Love is Blind

One day I read something interesting on one of my friend’s facebook wall. Some girl commented “Love is blind.” Below, other person disagreed on this quote.
I commented

“Yes, Love is Blind and If it is not blind it is not Love.”

That girl replied with a smily seems happy with my comment. But got no reply from other boy.

This was actually coined by Shakespeare and was quite a favorite line of his. It appears in several of his plays.

For example, this piece from The Merchant Of Venice, 1596:

JESSICA: Here, catch this casket; it is worth the pains.
I am glad ’tis night, you do not look on me,
For I am much ashamed of my exchange:
But love is blind and lovers cannot see
The pretty follies that themselves commit;
For if they could, Cupid himself would blush
To see me thus transformed to a boy.

I did not know that it is a real thing. It was only my idea that was noticed in the people around me. But after reading the below research I felt more than happy… I was right…Can’t say I am always right. Once one of my friend said that No one could be right always. Because sometimes we don’t even know ourselves and I am agreed to this.
Well, here is the research.

“Modern-day research supports the view that the blindness of love is not just a figurative matter. A research study in 2004 by University College London found that feelings of love suppressed the activity of the areas of the brain that control critical thought.”
OH MY GOD!!! I am just amazed… Nobody thinks like me.
I was doing a google hit about this quote and read too many answers and thoughts of people. everyone’s thought about blindness of love is specific to the beloved one. But I think the lover becomes blind in love with every aspect i.e. with the ugliness and imperfections of beloved one and also the feelings for other intimate relations like family, father, mother, sisters and brothers. The Lover does not see their pain. only see beauty looking back at you from his/her beloved eyes.
~ by UTS on November 14, 2010.

One Response to “Love is Blind”

  1. When it is real love, we can not see it. We feel it. Since we can not see it = it is blind. Real love, that is. Other than that? It’s illusion – not real love.

    Thank you for visiting my blog.

Leave a Reply

 
